Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Ziegler Elected to Second Term as Chief Justice

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has elected Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler to serve a second two-year term as chief justice, effective May 1, 2023. Chief Justice Ziegler was first elected to the Court in 2007 and became chief justice in 2021, succeeding former Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack in that role.

“I greatly appreciate the opportunity to continue serving the court system and the people of Wisconsin. There’s a lot of work aside from deciding cases that goes into keeping the courts running smoothly. I am fortunate to work with a group of very talented and passionate people, who understand and appreciate the role of the courts in our justice system and in our form of government,” Ziegler said.

Pursuant to Article VII, Section 4 (3) of the Wisconsin Constitution, the chief justice of the Supreme Court is the administrative head of the judicial system and exercises administrative authority pursuant to procedures adopted by the Supreme Court. In this role, the chief justice works with fellow justices, the director of state courts, chief judges and other administrators to ensure the courts operate efficiently.

Chief Justice Ziegler is the second justice to be elected to serve as Chief Justice since the 2015 constitutional amendment that permitted Supreme Court Justices to select the chief justice. Justice Roggensack, who will retire July 31, was the first justice to be elected by fellow justices to serve as chief justice.