Governor Announces Dairy Task Force 2.0 Members

Yesterday, Governor Walker announced the members of the Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0 at Wisconsin Farm Technology Days.

The Governor directed Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) Secretary Sheila Harsdorf and University of Wisconsin System (UW System) President Ray Cross to establish the Task Force in early June. The Task Force will focus on making recommendations on actions needed to maintain a viable and profitable dairy industry in our state.

“As Wisconsin’s dairy industry continues to face challenges, it is more important than ever that the industry as a whole works together to find ways to maintain our status as a leading dairy state,” said DATCP Secretary Harsdorf. “The diverse and wide-ranging Task Force membership will allow for an important conversation, and I look forward to their recommendations.”

The economic impact of the dairy industry in Wisconsin is significant, employing nearly 80,000 jobs and generating $43.4 billion in state-wide economic impact every year – nearly half of agriculture’s total economic impact.

“The partnership between the dairy industry and the University of Wisconsin goes back a long time, and it has played a vital part in Wisconsin becoming America’s Dairyland,” said President Cross. “The UW System looks forward to continuing to work with farmers and dairy producers to develop and implement innovative and forward-thinking solutions for the Wisconsin dairy industry.”

The Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0 members include:


  • Moriah Brey, Brey Cycle Farm LLC, Sturgeon Bay
  • Andy Buttles, Stone-Front Farm, Lancaster
  • Janet Clark, Vision Aire Farms, LLC, Rosendale
  • Tom Crosby, Crosby’s River Valley Dairy, Shell Lake
  • Dave Daniels, Mighty Grand Dairy, Union Grove
  • Patty Edelburg, Front-Page Holsteins, Scandinavia
  • Don Hamm, Sandy Loam Farm, Fredonia
  • Ryan Klussendorf, Broadland Grass Farm, Medford
  • Shelly Mayer, Mayer Farm, Slinger
  • Dan Pearson, Pearson Farm, River Falls
  • Amy Penterman, Dutch Dairy, Thorp
  • Brody Stapel, Double Dutch Dairy, Cedar Grove
  • Charles Untz, Untz Farm, Lake Mills
  • Darin Von Ruden, Von Ruden Farm, Westby

Milk Processors and Marketers:

  • Steve Bechel, Eau Galle Cheese Factory, Durand
  • Dave Buholzer, Klondike Cheese Company, Monroe
  • Rob Byrne, Schreiber Foods, Green Bay
  • Ted Galloway, Galloway Company, Neenah
  • Paul Scharfman, Specialty Cheese Company, Reeseville
  • Jerry Schroeder, Schroeder Milk Transit, Oconto Falls
  • Jeff Schwager, Sartori Cheese, Plymouth
  • David Ward, Cooperative Network, Madison
  • Elizabeth Wells, Organic Valley, La Farge

Allied Organizations:

  • John Accola, Premier Cooperative, Prairie du Sac
  • Dennis Bangart, AgCountry Farm Credit Services, Marshfield
  • Michael DeLong, First Bank of Baldwin, Baldwin
  • Bradley Guse, BMO Harris Bank, Arpin
  • Melissa Haag, Lodi Veterinary Hospital, Lodi
  • Rene Johnson, Union Bank and Trust Co., Evansville
  • John Schmidt, Landmark Services Cooperative, Appleton
  • Chad Vincent, Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin, Madison

Dr. Mark Stephenson, Director of Dairy Policy Analysis at UW-Madison, will chair the Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0. The Task Force is working to schedule their first meeting in August.