(2017 Wisconsin Act 11)
Under prior state law, a work permit issued by the Wisconsin Division of Equal Rights was required before anyone under the age of 18 could work in any job except for agricultural or domestic service work. To obtain a work permit, the minor must:
- provide proof of age;
- get written consent from a parent or legal guardian to work;
- have a signed letter from the employer describing the job duties, hours of work, and the time of day the minor will be working; and
- pay a $10 permit fee – payment of the fee is the responsibility of the employer.
2017 Wisconsin Act 11 eliminated the requirement that a 16 and 17-year-old individuals obtain a work permit for the Wisconsin Division of Equal Rights before being allowed to work in any job except for agricultural or domestic service work.